Oldest runner 3rd in 110K marathon
posted 24-Nov-2019  ·  
650 views  ·   0 comments  ·  
FORMER VIRAC COUNCILOR. Marcelino “Nonong” Sorra receives his trophy for finishing as second runner-up in the 100-kilometer race and special award as oldest finisher from Lao Ogerio, organizer of the 4th Isla ng Catanduanes Ultramara-thon held last Oct. 18-19, 2019.

The oldest runner among 12 participants in the 110-kilometer Isla ng Catanduanes Ultramarathon (ICUM) 4th Edition, former Virac councilor Marcelino “Nonong” Sorra, finished second runner-up in the race.

Beating competitors young enough to be his children, Sorra conquered the tough Virac-San Andres-Bato-Baras-Bato-Virac route in 20 hours and 36 minutes during the twin races last Oct. 18-19, 2019.

Visiting runner Randy Sequitin reached the finish line first in 16:51, beating Partick Narvaja (17:30), a member of the Island Runners Club Catanduanes (IRCC) like Sorra.

The other runners and their times: Marvin Masagca (IRCC), 20:37; Rhenzky Samudio (IRCC), 20:38; Deejee Molina (IRCC), 21:18; Aiza Bender (Team Waray), 21:20; and, Charlzon Agawa, 21:22.

In the 70K race, Japhet Caranza was declared champion, with an official time of 9 hours and 10 minutes.

The other podium finishers were Frederick Tria (IRCC), 9:38, and, Charles William Menes (CRC), 10:21:04.

Bea Gonzales of NLEX/MJC was the top female finisher at 12 hours.

The other runners and their times: Wilson Talan (IRCC), 10:21:05; William Menes (CRC), 10:45; Darwin Boban (Reformers BJMP), 11:37; Bong Anastasio, 12:05; Jon Borbon, 12:06; Lito Lopez, 12:07; Vannie Araojo, 12:33; John Darwin Taopo (IRCC), 12:38; John Lander Panti (IRCC), 13:08; Rodrigo Abias Jr., 13:32; Steve Mendoza (16:13); and, Dominic Wilson Besa (17:23).

new to catanduanestribune.com?
connect with us to leave a comment.
connect thru
home home album photo album blogs blogs